Friday, May 24, 2024
No menu items!
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

SHARON VIRTS

October 24, 2023 @ 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

BSB: Sharon Virts (Veil of Doubt) Author Talk & Signing

Bank Square Books presents an author talk and signing with Sharon Virts for the book A Veil of Doubt.

About the Book
When a mother is charged with murder in a town already convinced of her guilt, can defense attorney Powell Harrison find truth and justice in a legal system where innocence is not presumed?

Emily Lloyd, a young widow in Reconstruction-era Virginia, is accused of poisoning her three-year-old daughter, Maud. It isn’t the first death in her home—her husband and three other children all died of mysterious illnesses—so when Maud succumbs to an unexplained malady, the town suspects foul play. Soon Mrs. Lloyd is charged not only with poisoning the child but also with murdering her children, her husband, and her aunt.

Enter Powell Harrison, a soft-spoken, brilliant attorney who recently returned to his Virginia hometown to help his brother manage their late father’s practice. Approached to assist in Mrs. Lloyd’s defense, Harrison initially declines, worried that an infanticide case might tarnish their family’s reputation. But as details about the widow’s erratic behavior and her reclusive neighbors emerge, Harrison begins to suspect that an even more sinister truth might lurk beneath the family’s horrible fate and finds himself irresistibly drawn to the case.

Based on a shocking true story, Veil of Doubt is part true-crime thriller, part medical and legal procedural. Perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood’s Alias Grace and filled with rich period detail gleaned from exhaustive research, Veil of Doubt delves into the darkness of the South during Reconstruction, exposing intrigue, deception, and death.

About the Author
Sharon Virts is a successful entrepreneur and visionary who, after more than twenty-five years in business, followed her passion for storytelling in the world of historical fiction. She has received numerous awards for her work in historic preservation and has been recognized nationally for her business achievements and philanthropic contributions. She was recently included in Washington Life Magazine’s Philanthropic 50 for her work with education, health, and cultural preservation.

Sharon’s passion truly lies in the creative. She is an accomplished visual artist and uses her gift for artistic expression along with her extraordinary storytelling to build complex characters and craft vivid images and sets that capture the heart and imagination. She is mother to four sons—James, Lucas, Zachary, and Nicholas—stepmom to Ben and Avery, and “Nana” to ten-year-old Charlie and toddler Bodhi. She lives in Virginia with her husband, Scott Miller, at the historic Selma Mansion with their three Labrador retrievers Polly, Cassie, and Leda.

Veil of Doubt By Sharon Virts Cover Image
Veil of Doubt (Paperback)
By Sharon Virts
$18.95
ISBN: 9781959411253
Availability: Currently On Hand In Store
Published: Girl Friday Books – October 10th, 2023

When a mother is charged with murder in a town already convinced of her guilt, can defense attorney Powell Harrison find truth and justice in a legal system where innocence is not presumed? Emily Lloyd, a young widow in Reconstruction-era Virginia, is accused of poisoning her three-year-old daughter, Maud.

Tuesday, October 24, 2023 – 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Bank Square Books
53 West Main Street
Mystic, CT 06355

Details

Date:
October 24, 2023
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://www.banksquarebooks.com/event/sharon-virts-veil-doubt

Venue

Bank Square Books
53 West Main Street
Mystic, FL 06355 United States
+ Google Map
Phone
860-536-3795
View Venue Website