Friday, March 1, 2024
No menu items!
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Familia: A Riveting and Unforgettable Novel of Sisterhood

February 13 @ 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm

Bank Square Books presents an author talk and signing with Lauren E. Rico for the book, Familia. Lauren will be in conversation with Jeannie Moon, author of Then Came You.

Against the bold beauty of San Juan, a baffling genealogy test connects two twenty-something women across cultures and class in this emotional yet refreshing story about sisterhood and self-discovery for fans of Nina LaCour, Xochitl Gonzalez, Elizabeth Acevedo, Annette Chavez Macias, and Julia Alvarez.

“An irresistible blend of family drama and mystery, ideal for fans of Julia Alvarez and Diane Chamberlain.” –Booklist

“A masterfully woven tale of mystery, reconciliation, and familial love.” –Abby Jimenez, New York Times Bestselling Author

“A compulsive story with engaging characters that hooked me from the start. This is a must read!” –Kerry Lonsdale, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post & Bestselling Author

What if your most basic beliefs about your life were suddenly revealed to be a lie?

As the fact checker for a popular magazine, Gabby DiMarco believes in absolute, verifiable Truths—until they throw the facts of her own life into question. The genealogy test she took as research for an article has yielded a baffling result: Gabby has a sister—one who’s been desperately trying to find her. Except, as Gabby’s beloved parents would confirm if they were still alive, that’s impossible.

Isabella Ruiz can still picture the face of her baby sister, who disappeared from the streets of San Juan twenty-five years ago. Isabella, an artist, has fought hard for the stable home and loving marriage she has today—yet the longing to find Marianna has never left. At last, she’s found a match, and Gabby has agreed to come to Puerto Rico.

But Gabby, as defensive and cautious as Isabella is impulsive, offers no happy reunion. She insists there’s been a mistake. And Isabella realizes that even if this woman is her sister, she may not want to be.
With nothing—or perhaps so much—in common, Gabby and Isabella set out to find the truth, though it means risking everything they’ve known for an uncertain future—and a past that harbors yet more surprises . . .

“Lauren Rico’s FAMILIA has it all. By page 30, I would have walked on coals to finish reading this story.” –Jacquelyn Mitchard, New York Times bestselling author of The Deep End of the Ocean

“An absolute delight. I couldn’t stop turning the pages.” –KJ Dell’Antonia, New York Times Bestselling Author of The Chicken Sisters (A Reese’s Book Club Pick)

“A moving story about the bonds of sisterhood and unraveling the mysteries of your past. A wonderful debut!” –Annette Chavez Macias, bestselling author of Big Chicas Don’t Cry.

About the Author:
Lauren E. Rico is an award-winning author and one of the top classical music broadcasters in the country. Her voice is heard nationally on SiriusXM’s Symphony Hall channel, as well as on radio stations in New York City, Charlotte, and Tampa. A graduate of the University of South Florida and George Mason University, she grew up visiting her grandmother in Puerto Rico, where her ancestors date back to the 5th century. She now lives outside New York City.

About Then Came You:

Mia DeAngelis knew it was time to make a change. Wanting to provide a better life for herself and her ten-year-old nephew, Ben, she took a chance and moved to the small town of Compass Cove. Now, the college librarian is adapting to a new job, a new town, and living with her feisty seventy-eight-year-old grandmother. Mia is determined to make it all work, hoping the coastal hamlet gives both her and Ben the sense of community, family and belonging they both want so much.

Adam Miller, a retired NFL quarterback, has come back to Compass Cove to start over after an injury puts an end to his high-octane life. Settling into the small town routine proves to be a challenge, but his job coaching at Jennings College gives him a sense of purpose, while keeping him connected to the game he loves.

There couldn’t be two people more different, yet the minute they meet, friends and family have no doubt they belong together. Now if Mia and Adam can only get out or their own way and embrace a little home town magic, they can find the happy ever after they both crave…

About Jeannie Moon:
Award-winning, USA Today bestselling author Jeannie Moon has always been a romantic. A retired teacher and librarian, Jeannie loves spending her days planning new adventures, coaching authors, and writing her own happily ever afters. Jeannie is a lifelong resident of Long Island, New York, where she lives with her family and a pack of three crazy dogs.

Familia: A Riveting and Unforgettable Novel of Sisterhood (Paperback)
By Lauren E. Rico
$17.95
ISBN: 9781496744647
Availability: Currently On Hand In Store
Published: Kensington – December 26th, 2023

Venue

Bank Square Books
53 West Main Street
Mystic, FL 06355 United States
+ Google Map
Phone
860-536-3795
View Venue Website